IDEA Public Charter School

Skip to main content
1027 45th St. NE, Washington, DC 20019 Phone: 202-399-4750
Please Create A Marquee

Graduates Receive Awards and Scholarships at Commencement Ceremony

Congratulations to our scholarship recipients from the class of 2018. These scholarships were awarded during IDEA’s commencement ceremony on June 15, 2018.


Karen Owens Scholarship

Karen Owens Scholarships were awarded to

Elijah Joyner -- Most Improved in Math -- for  improving three grade levels in one academic year

Richard Boller -- Most Improved in English -- for increasing his reading scores to college level

Daesha Smith -- Overall Achiever Award -- for overcoming obstacles while maintaining academic excellence and competing as a tough athlete in volleyball, softball, and basketball.

This scholarship award is sponsored by IDEA Board Member David Owens in honor of his wife Karen, who strongly supported education as the key to success for African-American students.


Booker T. Washington Scholarship

Darren Powell received the Booker T. Washington Scholarship, awarded to a student who has been accepted college, earned a B or higher and held a leadership role in JROTC.

This scholarship is sponsored by Colonel William Dexter, who previously served as IDEA’s principal, deputy director, and founding board member.


The Frank Creighton Memorial Scholarship

TaQuirah Darmon received the Frank Creighton Memorial Scholarship, awarded to a graduating IDEA senior who demonstrates need, merit, and a plan for continued education. The scholarship aims to encourage a balance of talent with drive, ambition with grit, and passion with practicality by rewarding hard-working, well-rounded students who exhibit strength of character. The program matches scholars with mentors who provide consistent and meaningful support for student success.


Southeast Welding Academy

Wayne Powell received special commendation from the Southeast Welding Academy in recognition of his excellence performance during his apprenticeship training.


Economic Club of Washington

Mercedes Butler received the David M. Rubenstein Economic Club of Washington, D.C. Scholarship for academic achievement.


First Step Child Development Associate Credential

Taiwon Faulks, DeJah Wilson, and Khaya Watkins earned Child Development Associate hours which prepare them for progressing towards earning a credential in the future.This is a key stepping stone on the path of career advancement in early childhood education.


Stroman-Travers “Vigor, Vim, Vitality” Scholarship

James Gross received the Stroman-Travers “Vigor, Vim, Vitality” Scholarship in recognition of his excitement for learning, his ability to acquire new knowledge and exercise courage, his determination and perseverance, and his humor. The scholarship honors the late US Air Force Chief Senior Master SGT David Lee Stroman and US Army SFC (R) Carroll Travers, who was one of IDEA’s founders.

IDEA welcomes partners and community members who would like to support or create scholarships for the Class of 2019. Please contact Principal Nicole McCrae at or 202-399-4750.

Published Print